Jane Davis Doggett
View and Print Article PDF

Florida Artists Hall of Fame
Inducts Jane Davis Doggett

TALLAHASSEE — Florida Secretary of State Ken Detzner has announced the selection of artist and environmental graphic designer Jane Davis Doggett for induction into the Florida Artists Hall of Fame. The artist will be inducted in a ceremony February 2, 2016 at the Convening Culture Conference, to be held at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts in Fort Lauderdale.

Secretary Detzner expressed these tributes to Doggett: "Induction into the Florida Artists Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed upon artists by the State of Florida. Jane Davis Doggett has brought tremendous distinction to our state through her career and tireless devotion to her craft. She has raised the creative bar for artistic contributions that will endure, not only because of the work's value to the people of Florida, but because of the multitudes touched by her creations."

Jane Davis Doggett: Artist and Environmental Graphic Designer, Jupiter Island (1929 —)

Jane Davis Doggett studied at the Yale School of Art and Architecture during its modernist heyday, and has since become one of America's leading graphic designers. Her work includes thematic graphics and wayfinding systems seen by 20 million airport passengers per year at 40 international airport projects, including Tampa, Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood and Miami. Doggett pioneered the use of color-coding and letters to identify and index airport terminals, creating iconic graphics for both interior and exterior signage. She has been honored for her design with multiple awards, including the American Institute of Architects' National Award of Merit, Progressive Architecture Design Award, American Iron and Steel Institute's Design in Steel Citation, and two Design Awards co-sponsored by the U.S. Department of Transportation and the National Endowment for the Arts. Her creative two- and three-dimensional artworks have been featured in 15 exhibitions, including the Armory Center in West Palm Beach, FL, the Elliott Museum in Stuart, FL, the Tennessee State Museum, the University of Maine Museum, and the Yale University Art Gallery. Her artworks are in the permanent collections of the Elliott Museum and Yale University.


About the Florida Artists Hall of Fame

Established by the Florida Legislature in 1986, the Florida Artists Hall of Fame recognizes persons, living or deceased, who have made significant contributions to the arts in Florida either as performing or practicing artists in their disciplines. These individuals contribute to Florida's national and international reputation as a state with a sustained commitment to the development of cultural excellence. The Florida Artists Hall of Fame currently consists of more than 50 inductees, including musician and performer Ray Charles, actor and director Burt Reynolds, writers Zora Neale Hurston, Tennessee Williams and Ernest Hemingway, filmmaker Victor Nunez, and visual artists Duane Hanson, Robert Rauschenberg and James Rosenquist. For more information about the Florida Artists Hall of Fame, visit website: http://dos.myflorida.com/cultural/programs/florida-artists-hall-of-fame/.

About the Division of Cultural Affairs

The Florida Department of State's Division of Cultural Affairs is Florida's legislatively designated state arts agency. The Division promotes the arts and culture as essential to quality of life for all Floridians. To achieve its mission, the Division funds and supports cultural programs that provide artistic excellence, diversity, education, access and economic vitality for Florida's communities. For more information, visit dos.myflorida.com/cultural.